Group Policy Inheritance

I’ve been working on splitting out one of my policies in Active Directory, but the change I was making in the first policy in the same level was overwriting the change on the new policy. Then I ran into the technet article from Microsoft about inheritance. What help me here was link precedence. The numbers are not the order of how the policy will process, at least not in the order of 1,2,3. You want the winning policy to be at 1, and the link order will actually process from 3,2,1. 1 having the highest precedence.

This has solved my problem from now, and I can finally clean up some of those settings.

Now there is more to how GPOs are processed then just the link order, and there are some settings that can be applied to change it all up, if you read my previous post on Loopback. Just understanding this subject will help you to better setup and manage your windows domain via group policies.

Reference:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc757050(WS.10).aspx

About Paul Cardelli, CISSP
Cyber Security Analyst, and computer guru

Leave a Reply

